A certain kind of arrogance is sexy, sometimes, in a kind of primal desire to conquer it way. but confidence, true confidence with a perpetual humbled drive to become even better…that’s real.

It’s one thing to be pretentious without noticing it, but this contrived pretentiousness that condescends the petty things. So pseudo. Ex. exaggerated disdain and condescension of kitsch without taking the time to appreciate it with any humor.

HUMOR!

This idea of effortlessness…completely negated by outward, obvious expressions, that’s for the world. It’s…cheap. I mean, aren’t people the most intriguing when they’re unaware.

Subtleness that doesn’t require explanation kind of affords a natural privacy/intimacy between people who get it, maybe. It’s so good.

It’s interesting what people choose to tell other people.

I hate the idea of criticizing for the sake of distancing yourself from something that might otherwise be associated with you. It’s so trying, like, can’t you just be you? It annoys me when people constantly assert their “intelligence”.

I can’t explain how these subtleties are discernible, but they are. Not that one is better than the other, just preference I guess. (For whatever reason, Stuy kids just “get it” in some vague undescribable way. Don’t mean to be obnoxious.)

So many things are reaching, I don’t want to feel like I’m reaching.

I guess, I was reaching then, too. In a different way.

Aren’t people just a hypothetical in our lives, really?

It annoys me when I can see through people, but concerted opaqueness is frustrating as well.

People take themselves too seriously.

It’s such shit having this stupid point of reference. You’d think that considering how superficial I am, I’d be over it by now, seriously. I mean, I am. Completely. But, people just don’t get it.

2 responses to “

  1. Nako August 1, 2010 at 11:16 PM

    I like this post. streams of consciousness are freeing.

    i’m learning about subtleties. its a delicate balance in communication. sometimes you don’t want to allow the possibility of misperception, however there are ways to communicate and depending on the content…a thought, belief or feeling doesn’t necessary have to be shared in an obvious way.

    Opacity is an interesting thing. What are your thoughts on when its unintentional?

Leave a Reply

