Three years ago, when I was doing the semester abroad like the American baller thing, I saw these at some random sneaker shop around Les Halles/Etienne Marcel, and thought it was a fluke. Tonight, it popped up on a “private sales” site, where it was described to be “super stylish French trainers”. Listen, I get it, stylish is perma-attached to anything French. Fine.

But, y’all!

I can swear on my little red book (c’est en francais, vous voyez), that all the boys at my elementary school in Communist China (the girls wore the mary jane version, natch) wore these. Why do they scream hipster irony? Is it even appropriate? Some form of copyright is being violated here, n’est-ce pas?

Get this, they’re being sold for about $90. If I tell you I can get about 20 pairs of these for $90 in China, would I be fulfilling a stereotype of Chinese chick bootlegging, or would I be redirecting business to the proper venue?

The mind boggles.

One response to “

  1. eddie May 27, 2010 at 4:37 PM

    i actually met the people that “resurrected” this brand and i believe they bought it from the older chinese brand. when i was in china, i bought those dope cotton shoes from the place mao got fitted at LOL. much better and for like $30 in beijing

Leave a Reply

